HAWAII MOPED LAWS: Everyone who rents a moped must be at least 18 years of age with a valid drivers license and a credit card. If you would like to rent a two passenger motor scooter you need a valid motorcycle license.
Can you get around Oahu on a moped?
The good news? You can drive your moped in the bike lane and avoid the dreaded Oahu traffic. Prices vary among competitors, but, at Hawaiian Style Rentals and Sales, you can rent a standard moped for $40 for 24 hours.
Are mopeds safe in Honolulu?
Mopeds and scooters are popular ways to get around Honolulu. However, they are not necessarily the safest modes of transportation, especially in some of the city’s busiest areas. Mopeds and scooters share many similar dangers. In addition, Hawaii law does not require people on mopeds or scooters to wear helmets.
Do you need insurance on a moped in Hawaii?
In some ways, police treat mopeds the same as motorcycles: All mopeds in Hawaii must be registered, and you must either a driver’s license or motorcycle training. However, mopeds don’t require insurance and accidents are treated the same as bicycle accidents.
Can you drive a moped without a license in Hawaii?
Yes, at a minimum a valid CLASS 1 driver license or permit is required to legally operate a moped. Drivers with other classes of driver license or permit may legally operate a moped. 12.
Can 2 people ride on a moped in Hawaii?
It is against the law in the state of Hawaii to ride two people on a moped. If you have a motorcycle license you might consider renting our motor scooters. They seat 2 people and can ride on all roadways.
Can you ride a moped on the freeway in Hawaii?
Can I go on the highway with a 50cc moped or scooter in Hawaii? You may go on the highway with both a 50cc moped and a scooter. Mopeds (50cc) are to be driven in the bike lane and a scooter (over 50cc) can be riden on the road, as long as it can keep up with the steady flow of traffic.
Can you get around Hawaii on a moped?
Are mopeds good for Hawaii?
Mopeds are not safe in Hawaii.
Do you have to wear a helmet on a moped in Hawaii?
Do You Need To Wear A Helmet When Riding A Moped In Hawaii? Moped riders under the age of 18 are required to wear a helmet with a chin strap by law in the state of Hawaii. Riders are not required to wear a state approved helmet, though this is recommended.
What qualifies as a moped in Hawaii?
The definition of a moped can be viewed in full in Section 286-2, HRS. In short, a moped may have 2 or 3 wheels, may carry only one person, must have a maximum of two horsepower, a top speed on a straight level surface of no more than 30 mph and have an automatic transmission.
Is it possible to rent a moped in Hawaii?
Remember, every moped rental includes secure locks, island maps, free lessons and tour routes. Upgrade to the sport with better suspension, braking and lighting. Looking for a Two Passenger Moped in Hawaii?
How old do you have to be to rent a scooter in Hawaii?
Must be 21 Years Old with a Motorcycle License Required. While in Honolulu, you are welcome to walk in and rent our scooters for the day or the week. Our fleet is in tip-top shape and will be stylin’ on the roads with our brand new models.
Can you rent a moped ahead of time?
Walk-ins are welcome, however the fastest way to get out on the road on the day of your rental is to reserve ahead of time. Each moped rental comes with a helmet, lock and chain, map, a recommended route via google maps, and a lesson for those who may be first time riders or just need to brush up on their skills before hitting the road.
What’s the price of a scooter in Hawaii?
Priced with an MSRP of $3,199, this scooter is superior in quality to much higher priced scooters available for sale in Hawaii. Our Little Buddy Internationals pack plenty of big European flavor in a small fun-to-ride package.