Blog What are the longitudinal pharyngeal muscles?

What are the longitudinal pharyngeal muscles?

What are the longitudinal pharyngeal muscles?

Longitudinal. The longitudinal muscles are the stylopharyngeus, palatopharyngeus and salpingopharyngeus. They act to shorten and widen the pharynx, and elevate the larynx during swallowing. Stylopharyngeus – arises from the styloid process of the temporal bone, inserts into the pharynx.

How many longitudinal muscles constitute the pharynx?

There are two muscular layers of the pharynx: the outer circular layer and the inner longitudinal layer….

Pharyngeal muscles
Nerve receives motor innervation by Vagus nerve (CN X). Stylopharyngeus receives motor innervation by Glossopharyngeal (CN IX)

What do the pharyngeal muscles do?

The three paired muscles of the inner pharynx act as a group in order to elevate the larynx, shorten the pharynx and act during swallowing and speaking. These muscles are known as the stylopharyngeus, the palatopharyngeus and the salpingopharyngeus.

Is the pharynx skeletal muscle?

The pharynx runs from the nostrils to the esophagus and the larynx. A short tube of skeletal muscle lined with a mucous membrane, the pharynx runs from the posterior oral and nasal cavities to the opening of the esophagus and larynx.

How many paired muscles are in the throat?

Throat Muscles There are over 50 pairs of muscles that are responsible for helping you to properly swallow your food.

What pharyngeal muscles are involved in swallowing?

[17] The longitudinal pharyngeal muscles function to condense and expand the pharynx as well as help elevate the pharynx and larynx during swallowing. These muscles include the stylopharyngeus (CN IX), salpingopharyngeus (CN X), and the palatopharyngeus (CN X).

What are the types of pharynx?

The pharynx is divided into three regions according to location: the nasopharynx, the oropharynx, and the laryngopharynx (hypopharynx). The nasopharynx is the portion of the pharynx that is posterior to the nasal cavity and extends inferiorly to the uvula.

Is swallowing an involuntary action?

The act of swallowing has voluntary and involuntary components. The preparatory/oral phase is voluntary, whereas the pharyngeal and esophageal phases are mediated by an involuntary reflex called the swallowing reflex.

What are the muscles that make up the pharynx?

[edit on Wikidata] The pharyngeal muscles are a group of muscles that form the pharynx, determining the shape of its lumen, and affecting its sound properties as the primary resonating cavity posterior to the oral cavity. The pharyngeal muscles contracts pushing the food into the esophagus.

Where does the stylopharyngeus come from in the pharynx?

Stylopharyngeus – arises from the styloid process of the temporal bone, inserts into the pharynx. Unlike the other pharyngeal muscles, it is innervated by the glossopharyngeal nerve (CN IX). Palatopharyngeus – arises from hard palate of the oral cavity, inserts into the pharynx. Innervated by the vagus nerve (CN X).

Where are the pharyngeal constrictors located in the body?

The laryngopharynx contains the middle and inferior pharyngeal constrictors. The inferior pharyngeal constrictor is split into two parts; the thyropharyngeus and the cricopharyngeus. This area between the two is a weak area in the mucosa.

Where are the sympathetic fibres of the pharyngeal plexus?

The pharyngeal plexus, which mainly overlies the middle pharyngeal constrictor, is formed by: Pharyngeal branches from the glossopharyngeal nerve (CN IX). Pharyngeal branch of the vagus nerve (CN X). Branches from the external laryngeal nerve. Sympathetic fibres from the superior cervical ganglion.