Popular articles What is the function of parietal bones?

What is the function of parietal bones?

What is the function of parietal bones?

The function of the cranium, and hence the parietal bones, is to protect the underlying fragile brain. The parietal bone is slightly curved and has a quadrilateral shape. It has two surfaces, four borders and four angles. The borders articulate with the neighbouring skull bones to form various cranial sutures.

How many parietal bones are in the skull?

Anatomically, the cranium can be subdivided into a roof and a base: Cranial roof – comprised of the frontal, occipital and two parietal bones.

Which bone is the parietal bone?

The parietal bone is a paired, irregular, quadrilateral skull bone that forms the sides and roof of the cranium.

How is a parietal bone formed?

The parietal bone is formed from one or two primary ossification centers lying in the same plane or one above the other (Figs. 1, 2, 3). Fusion of primary ossification centers was observed between 15 and 19 weeks of life (Fig. 3).

How thick is the parietal bone?

The mean total parietal thickness is 6.02 mm ± 1.54 mm. The diploe thickness is more variable, while the thickness of the inner and outer table is more constant over the parietal bone. Mean values are 1.52 mm ± 0.50 mm for the inner table, 2.84 mm ± 1.44 mm for the diploe, and 1.70 mm ± 0.48 mm for the outer table.

What bone does not touch the parietal bone?

Sphenoid bone

Sphenoid bone
TA98 A02.1.05.001
TA2 584
FMA 52736
Anatomical terms of bone

What is the softest part of the skull?

The temple is at the side of the head behind the eyes, the bone beneath is known as the temporal bone. This is the softest part of the skull and therefore the easiest to damage. Blunt trauma to this area, such as a kick, will cause brain haemorrhaging, followed by death.

What are the structures of the skull?

The skull is composed of two parts: the cranium and the mandible. The skull forms the anterior most portion of the skeleton and is a product of encephalization, housing the brain, many sensory structures (eyes, ears, nasal cavity), and the feeding system.

What are the different parts of the skull?

The skull consists of three parts, of different embryological origin—the neurocranium, the sutures, and the facial skeleton (also called the membraneous viscerocranium). The neurocranium (or braincase) forms the protective cranial cavity that surrounds and houses the brain and brainstem.

What are the regions of the skull?

The skull base can be subdivided into 3 regions: the anterior, middle, and posterior cranial fossae. (See the image below.) The petro-occipital fissure subdivides the middle cranial fossa into 1 central component and 2 lateral components.