Helpful tips Where is Raja Ampat location?

Where is Raja Ampat location?

Where is Raja Ampat location?

West Papua province
The Raja Ampat archipelago, part of the Coral Triangle, located at the northwest corner of Indonesia’s West Papua province, encompassing 40,000 km² of land and sea and including a series of more than 1,500 islands which surround the main islands of Misool, Salawati, Batanta and Waigeo.

Can I go to Raja Ampat?

To get to Raja Ampat you should first take a flight from Jakarta or Makassar to Sorong. There are small aircraft to take you to Waisai, the capital of the district of Raja Ampat, or alternatively, you can take a ferry from the port of Sorong to the islands. The ferry trip will take about 2 to three hours.

Are there sharks in Raja Ampat?

Raja Ampat is an ideal habitat for a number of species of sharks. Black tip, white tip and grey reef sharks thrive here thanks to the bounty of pray in the ecosystem. They are some of the top predators in this area and are exciting to watch while they cruise for their next meal.

Can you stay on Raja Ampat?

A nursery and refuge for coral and fish species that are rapidly disappearing from elsewhere in the region, and the perfect place to really get away from it all. Staying in Raja Ampat accommodation that is owned and operated by local people provides a unique cultural experience at an affordable price.

Where are the Raja Ampat Islands in Indonesia?

Raja Ampat is one of the most magical scuba diving destinations you can imagine! This archipelago is located in West Papua in Indonesia. Most of the Islands are still unexplored and only few Liveaboards and dive resorts offer diving in Raja Ampat. This area was even voted the richest reef in the World in 2007 by National Geographic.

How did Raja Ampat become part of the Netherlands?

History shows that Raja Ampat was once a part of the Sultanate of Tidore, an influential kingdom from Maluku. Yet, after the Dutch invaded Maluku, it was claimed by the Netherlands.

How many islands are there in West Papua?

Raja Ampat, is a regency and groups of islands that located in the tip of Bird’s Head Peninsula on the island of New Guinea, precisely in West Papua province. Raja Ampat has 610 islands, which is only 35 islands that have been inhabited, the rest areun inhabited and even nameless.

What kind of animals live on Raja Ampat Islands?

Rainforest that covers tropical islands in Raja Ampat is the natural habitat of a lot of species of birds, mammals, reptiles and insects. Two species of birds of paradise, i.e. Red Bird of Paradise (Paradisaea rubra) and Wilson’s Bird of Paradise (Diphyllodes respublica), are endemic to the islands of Waigeo, Gam and Batanta.