Other Who caused crash at Daytona 500?

Who caused crash at Daytona 500?

Who caused crash at Daytona 500?

— Michael McDowell, a 14-year part-timer, drove straight through a flaming crash scene on the final lap of the Daytona 500 early Monday to earn his first career victory in the NASCAR Cup Series. The wreck was triggered when the Team Penske teammates Joey Logano and Brad Keselowski tangled going for the lead.

Was there a wreck at the Daytona 500?

The Daytona 500 ended in a fiery crash on the final lap of the race, setting up an upset win by driver Michael McDowell. McDowell was a 100-1 underdog to win heading into the race after going 0-for in his other 357 career NASCAR Cup Series starts.

What cars were in the wreck at the Daytona 500 today?

The crash collected Ryan Newman, Martin Truex Jr., Ryan Blaney, William Byron, Daniel Suarez, Matt DiBenedetto, and Tyler Reddick, among others. At the time of the red flag, six drivers involved in the crash were confirmed out of the race: Almirola, Bowman, Suarez, Newman, Erik Jones, and David Ragan.

Who was in the Daytona 500 Crash 2021?

Ryan Blaney won his third race of 2021 at Daytona on Saturday night as a massive crash happened behind him. Blaney took the lead on a two-lap restart to end the race and had a big lead over Kevin Harvick when Harvick got turned by Daniel Suarez to trigger a huge crash on the backstretch on the final lap.

Who is the number 1 NASCAR driver?

Jamie McMurray

Driver Top 10’s
1 Jamie McMurray 88
2 Rick Mast 27
3 Martin Truex Jr. 37
4 Steve Park 33

What was the biggest wreck in Nascar?

2002 Aaron’s 312 at Talladega: On lap 14, the largest crash in modern NASCAR history (1972–present) took place at the exit of turn two, with 31 cars being involved.

How much money did Michael Mcdowell make winning the Daytona 500?

(AP) — Michael McDowell was rewarded for his Daytona 500 victory with an increased sponsorship agreement with The company was still working on its 2021 budget when McDowell won the 500. It was the first win in 358 starts for McDowell….NBA Stats.

Eastern Conference Atlantic Division Miami

Which driver has the most Daytona 500 wins?

Richard Petty holds the record for most Daytona 500 victories (seven), while 11 other drivers have won NASCAR ‘s premier event at least twice: Cale Yarborough (four), Bobby Allison (three), Dale Jarrett (three), Jeff Gordon (three), Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Who won the fastest 500 mile race in NASCAR history?

Bill Elliott rallied from more than a lap down and pushed his Ford over 205 m.p.h. in the closing laps to win the NASCAR Winston 500 in world-record time at Talladega, Ala. In the fastest 500-mile race in history, Elliott averaged 186.288 m.p.h. to edge Kyle Petty by 1.72 seconds as Fords took the first three places.

Who as won the most Daytona 500?

Richard Petty won the most Daytona 500 races with seven victories. Who won the Daytona 500 in 2020? Denny Hamlin is the reigning Daytona 500 champion, winning the race in back-to-back years (2019, 2020). He won his third “Great American Race” in four years, having also claimed the title in 2016.

When did Dale Earnhardt Sr . win the Daytona 500?

On February 15, 1998, after 20 years of trying, racing great Dale Earnhardt Sr. finally wins his first Daytona 500, the National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing (NASCAR) season opener and an event dubbed the “Super Bowl of stock car racing.” Driving his black No. 3 Chevrolet, Earnhardt recorded an average speed of 172.712 mph…